
12 NCAC 09B .0233 SPECIALIZED PHYSICAL FITNESS INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

(a)  The instructor training course required for Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Certification shall consist of a 

minimum of 47 hours of classroom and field instruction, plus the tasks associated with Physical Fitness 

Assessments, Exercise Programs, and Instructional Methods, presented during a continuous period of not more than 

two weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the 

Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director 

determines that doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following factors: 

(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed; 

(2) The risk of harm to students that may be caused by continuation of the course; 

(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address 

the State of Emergency; 

(4) The specific need for the waiver; and 

(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction. 

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses that 

began during the effective period of the State of Emergency. 

(b)  Each Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the 

skills and knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice physical fitness instructor in a Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course or a Law Enforcement Officers' Annual In-Service Training Program. 

(c)  Each applicant for specialized physical fitness training shall: 

(1) qualify through one of the following three options: 

(A) have completed the criminal justice general instructor training course; 

(B) hold a current and valid North Carolina Teacher's Certificate, hold a baccalaureate degree 

in physical education, and be teaching in physical education topics; or 

(C) be presently instructing physical education topics in a community college, college, or 

university and possess a baccalaureate degree in physical education; 

(2) present a written endorsement by either: 

(A) a certified School Director indicating the student may be utilized to instruct physical 

fitness in Basic Law Enforcement Training Courses; or 

(B) a certified School Director, or In-Service Training Coordinator indicating the student may 

be utilized to instruct physical fitness for the Law Enforcement Officers' In-Service 

Training Program; 

(3) present a letter from a physician stating fitness to participate in the course; and 

(4) Within 365 days prior to enrollment complete a qualification administered by the North Carolina 

Justice Academy requiring the individual to: 

(A) complete Scenario #1 of the Police Officer Physical Abilities Test (POPAT) in no more 

than six minutes; 

(B) complete Scenario #2 of the POPAT in no more than three minutes; and 

(C) complete a physical fitness assessment achieve at a minimum percentile score of 60. 

(d)  Each Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas 

and minimum instructional hours for each area: 

(1) Orientation        1 Hour 

(2) Physical Fitness Sessions       6 Hours 

(3) Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise Programs, and Instructional Methods 14 Hours 

(4) Injury Care and Prevention      4 Hours 

(5) Nutrition        7 Hours 

(6) Civil Liability        3 Hours 

(7) CVD Risk Factors       3 Hours 

(8) Developing In-Service Wellness Programs and Validating Fitness Standards 4 Hours 

(9) Lesson Plan Review       2 Hours 

(10) Exercise Leadership       3 Hours 

(11) Completion of tasks associated with Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise Programs, and 

Instructional Methods. The number of hours required to complete this portion of the curriculum 

shall be determined by number of students, number of instructors, and available facilities. 



(e)  The "Physical Fitness Instructor Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be 

the curriculum for specialized physical fitness instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be 

inspected at the: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Box 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

(f)  The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the "Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training" 

course is the North Carolina Justice Academy. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; February 1, 2013; December 1, 2009; August 

1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; November 1, 1998; March 1, 1990; August 1, 1985. 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 

2019; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2022; January 1, 2021. 

 


